Why did Deepak and Deepa leave NFDC Award program mid-way?

The ‘Chhakka Panja’ team attended NFDC Film award with high hopes. That was because, it was nominated in 15 categories – that was the most number of categories any movies were nominated in the award.

[Read the full nomination list of NFDC Award]

UPDATE – video report

What Happened at NFDC?

All the titles that ‘Chhakka Panja’ won – best movie, best actress, best director etc. were announced towards the end. In the star, all the awards were given to other films. Most of the awards ‘Chhakka Panja’ was nominated in went to ‘Purano Dunga’ – the movie that wasn’t as successful as ‘Chhakka Panja’. I can guess how torturous it would have been to Deepak and Deepa.

Who won in the categories ‘Chhakka Panja’ was nominated in? :

  1. Best Script – Purano Dunga
  2. Best cinematography – Purano Dunga
  3. Best Editing – Jatara (Mitra Gurung)
  4. Best Music – Purano Dunga
  5. Best Playback singing – Loot 2
  6. Best Choreographer – Loot 2
  7. Best Sound Mixing – Jatra
  8. Best Background Music – Chapali Height 2
  9. Best Actor – Jatra (Bipin Karki)
  10. Best Supporting Actor – Purano Dunga (Mao Tse Gurung)
  11. Best Supporting Actress – Purnao Dunga (Menaka Pradhan)

Chhakka Panja won

  • Best Movie
  • Best Director – Deepa Shree Niraula
  • Best Actress – Priyanka Karki
  • Best Comedy Actor – Kedar Ghimire
  • Best Commercial Movie

Deepa showing the 15 nomination cards of ‘Chhakka Panja’ in NFDC Award:

Chhakka Panja’s nominations were:

  1. Best Movie
  2. Best Director – Deepa Shree Niraula (Chhakka Panja)
  3. Best Actor – Deepak Raj Giri (Chhakka Panja)
  4. Best Actress – Priyanka Karki (Chhakka Panja)
  5. Best Supporting Actor – Jitu Nepal (Chhakka Panja) and Shivahari Poudel (Chhakka Panja)
  6. Best Supporting Actress – Aruna Karki (Chhakka Panja), Namrata Sapkota (Chhakka Panja)
  7. Best Comedy Actor – Buddhi Tamang (Chhakka Panja), Kedar Ghimire (Chhakka Panja)
  8. Best Script – Deepak Raj Giri (Chhakka Panja)
  9. Best cinematography – Purushottam Pradhan (Chhakka Panja)
  10. Best Editing – Bipin Malla (Chhakka Panja)
  11. Best Music – Rajan Raj Shiwakoti – Chhakka Panja – Purba Paschim Rail
  12. Best Playback singing – Rajanraj Siwakoti and Anju Panta – Purba Paschim Rail of Chhakka Panja, Krishna Kafle and Deepa Shree Niraula – Sunana Champa of Chhakka Panja
  13. Best Choreography – Kabiraj Gahatraj (Chhakka Panja)
  14. Best Sound Mixing – Sunayaman Shrestha (Chhakka Panja)
  15. Best Background Music – Sujil Karmacharya (Chhakka Panja)

Deepak and Deepa are clearly unhappy by the result. The Facebook status by Deepak and Deepa have negative tone although they have thanked the organizers for the award. Deepa Shree Niraula has told that she has thanked the organizers “personally” for the Best Director award.

Read the statuses:

Leave a ReplyCancel reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.