Biography of Sher Bahadur Deuba, the 40th prime minister of Nepal

I have prepared a biography video of the prime minister of Nepal. Starting this week, I am planning to produce a biography video of a celebrity every week and publish on Sunday. There will be 52 biographies in a year. This week’s biography is of the new prime minister of Nepal, Sher Bahadur Deuba. Watch the video first before reading the details of his life:

Who is Sher Bahadur Deuba?

From a simple family of a village in Dadeldhura, Sher Bahadur Deuba is one of the major political personality in Nepal. He started his political career as a student leader. In the start, Nepali Congress leader, BP Koirala, had supported Deuba in the party. After BP’s death Nepali Congress was led jointly by Ganesh Man Singh, Krishna Prasad Bhattarai and Girija Prasad Koirala. After the death of Ganesh Man and Krishna Prasad, Girija was the sole leader of the party. The only leader in the party to challenge Girija was Deuba. He managed to become Prime Minister despite Girija Prasad Koirala. It is believed that Girija was one of the forces behind the impeachment of Deuba in his first tenure as the prime minister.

Because of the issue with Girija, Sher Bahadur Deuba took some of the leaders and formed a new party Nepali Congress (Prajatantrik). But, the party failed in the election and later went back to the parent party in a little more than half a decade.

After Girija Prasad Koirala’s death, Sushil Koirala became the party president and the prime minister. Sher Bahadur had to wait till the death of Sushil Koirala to be elected as the party president.

At the first time he became the prime minister, Sher Bahadur was 49 years old. Now, in his fourth time he is 70 and will turn 71 years old in a few days (On July 13).

Sher Bahadur Deuba Timeline

Here is the timeline summary of Deuba’s life:

  • 1947 – Born
  • 1971 – President of Nepal Student Union
  • 1991 – Home Minister
  • 1994 – Prime Minister (No confidence motion in 1997)
  • 2001 – Prime minister (King removed from power in 2002)
  • 2004 – King installed him as prime minister again (King removed the second time in 2005)
  • 2017 – Became prime minister for the fourth time.

Leave a ReplyCancel reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.