Miss Newa 2009 to be held on December 30

akasha-bajracharya One of the many ethnic communities, Newar community, has been conducting its own beauty pageant, Miss Newa, for the past few years. This year,  36 participants are choosen from Kathmandu, Lalitpur, Bhaktapur, Dolkha, Dhading, Terhathum, and Dhangadi for the final contest to be held on December 30, 2009.

Apart from Miss Newa, other ethnic community beauty contest – Miss Sherpa and Miss Gurung started in the year 2004. Miss Newa followed them and the first Miss Newa was organized by Nepalese Fashion Home in the year 2005. Since then Miss Newa is organized annually. Ms. Sabita Shrestha was crowned the first Miss Newa (2005). Ms. Subita Pradhan (2006), Ms. Supriya Tuladhar (2007) and Ms. Aakasha were the crown holders in successive years.

Last year’s Miss Newa 2008, Akasha Bajracharya will handover the Miss Newa crown to the winner of this year’s title.

The participants are being given a month long training by choreographers Rojin Shakya, Raju Napit, Bhairaja Tuladhar and Ghanashyam Khadka.

Here are the photos of participants visiting Manankamana temple. (credits: Nagariknews)

Godawari hiking photos:

Ref: Official Miss Newa site

One thought on “Miss Newa 2009 to be held on December 30

Leave a ReplyCancel reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.